John McCain

Ik heb inmiddels geleerd dat de titel van een blog veel invloed kan hebben op het aantal bezoekers. De blogs over Sarah Palin trokken veel views, via Google. Vandaag dus John McCain.

Maar ook omdat ik het een geweldige speech vond. Natuurlijk zat er genoeg polispeak in, maar daaromheen heeft hij een paar prachtige punten gemaakt.

Zijn voordracht is wat minder in vergelijking met Obama. Dat heeft voor een deel te maken met het feit dat hij gewond is geraakt en gemarteld is in Vietnam, waardoor zijn armen wat stijfjes bewegen. Maar laat dat je niet afleiden van zijn boodschap. Een paar citaten die het hart van de mens en het hart van de zaak raken (hier de hele tekst):

The constant partisan rancor that stops us from solving these problems isn’t a cause, it’s a symptom. (Dat zou je ook  goed in een kerk kunnen toepassen: de conflicten in een kerk zijn het probleem niet, ze zijn symptomen van het kwaad dat dieper zit, in het hart.)

Long ago, something unusual happened to me that taught me the most valuable lesson of my life. I was blessed by misfortune. I mean that sincerely. I was blessed because I served in the company of heroes, and I witnessed a thousand acts of courage, compassion and love.

On an October morning, in the Gulf of Tonkin, I prepared for my 23rd mission over North Vietnam. I hadn’t any worry I wouldn’t come back safe and sound. I thought I was tougher than anyone. I was pretty independent then, too. I liked to bend a few rules, and pick a few fights for the fun of it. But I did it for my own pleasure, my own pride. I didn’t think there was a cause more important than me. (…)

(In the cell in Hanoi) I couldn’t do anything. I couldn’t even feed myself. They did it for me. I was beginning to learn the limits of my selfish independence. Those men saved my life. (…)

I‘m not running for president because I think I’m blessed with such personal greatness that history has anointed me to save our country in its hour of need. My country saved me. My country saved me, and I cannot forget it. And I will fight for her for as long as I draw breath, so help me God. (…)

If you find faults with our country, make it a better one. If you’re disappointed with the mistakes of government, join its ranks and work to correct them. Enlist in our armed forces. Become a teacher. Enter the ministry. Run for public office. Feed a hungry child. Teach an illiterate adult to read. Comfort the afflicted. Defend the rights of the oppressed. Our country will be the better, and you will be the happier. Because nothing brings greater happiness in life than to serve a cause greater than yourself. (…)

Ik ben nooit in de verleiding gekomen plagiaat te plegen wat het maken van een preek betreft.

Nu wel.

One response to “John McCain

  • sarah

    his speech was so much better than any i had heard at the convention yet. many of the news pundits can’t look beyond his less than charismatic delivery to the heart of the message. this caused me to give him a closer look. (still can’t agree on the war thing though….)

Geef een reactie

